Snake ID
Challenge

What is This Challenge About?

Venomous snakebite is responsible for over 125,000 deaths and around three times as many permanent disabilities every year, mostly affecting poor and rural communities in the parts of the world where snake diversity is the highest. One of the reasons of this crisis is that healthcare providers working in these areas are limited in their herpetological expertise & access to resources. Same can be said for local people and communities.

Our ultimate goal is to support them with better tools to face this challenge. We are working on creating tools that anyone can use to identify snakes, using a combination of humans and artificial intelligence, in order to help clinicians better treat snakebite cases, educate people, and at the same time improve snake conservation and help scientists discover new species.

The number of known snake species is growing rapidly, projected to reach 4,000 by 2030. Through a combination of field work in remote areas of the world, better organized data portals for natural history museum collections, and new techniques in molecular systematics, scientists have access to new data about snake biodiversity nearly every day. However, most laypeople can only identify a handful of species, and even professional herpetologists may have expertise in only a certain geographic area or taxonomic group.

But you are passionate experts!

For our applications, your knowledge is uniquely valuable, as someday your rapid IDs could help save the life of a person. This is already happening organically through email and platforms such as WhatsApp & Facebook snake ID groups, and we are collaborating with them to capture data on the speed & accuracy of the process. Eventually we’ll compare the results obtained with the crowd (you!) to the ones obtained with Artificial Intelligence, setting the stage for a human vs. machine showdown like those over chess, Go, and Jeopardy.

We count on you doing your best—if it helps, you can pretend the snake in the photo has just bitten someone & you’ve been asked to provide an ID!

  • You do not have to be a snake expert to participate.
  • The challenge contains more than 2000 images of hundreds of snake species from around the world.
  • We'll measure how long it takes you to submit your ID, but there's no time limit.
  • It's OK to use print & digital resources to help yourself narrow down or arrive at an ID.
  • It's OK to make educated guesses, including at the genus or family level.
  • It’s OK to use the context of the original tweet to help narrow down your ID.
  • You may see the same images more than once, although we have tried to filter these out. You may occasionally see a few images of things that are not snakes, which you can tag as “Not a snake”.
  • Unlike last time, you may also see images of dead snakes.
  • You can enter common names in English as well as scientific names. We're using mostly the taxonomy from HerpMapper, with support from The Reptile Database. If you can't find a name you want, please send us feedback using the form. Most names should be available at least as synonyms. We do not intend to take any stance on taxonomy or nomenclature.

Project Team

This is a highly interdisciplinary project bringing together herpetologists and key players in global health.

  • Dr. Rafael Ruiz de Castañeda, Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Dr. Isabelle Bolon, Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Dr. Andrew Durso, Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Prof. François Chappuis, Division of humanitarian and tropical medicine, HUG/UNIGE
  • Dr. Gabriel Alcoba, MSF and Division of humanitarian and tropical medicine, HUG/UNIGE
  • Dr. Nicolas Ray, Institute of environmental sciences & Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Prof. Marcel Salathe, Digital Epidemiology Lab, EPFL
  • Sharada Prasanna Mohanty, Digital Epidemiology Lab, EPFL
  • Prof. François Grey, Citizen Cyberlab, UNIGE
  • Dr. Jose Luis Fernandez, Citizen Cyberlab, UNIGE
  • Rosy Mondardini, Citizen Science Center Zurich, ETH / UNIZH
  • Prof. David Williams, Global Snakebite Initiative, University of Melbourne
  • Dr. Abiy Tamrat, Médecins Sans Frontières, Geneva
  • Hanne Epstein, Médecins Sans Frontières, Copenhagen
  • Donald Becker, Christopher Smith, Michael Pingleton, HerpMapper
  • M. Jose Louies, IUCN Viper Specialist Group, indiansnakes.org & snakebiteinitiative.in
  • Dr. Brian Lohse, AntiVenom Venture & University of Copenhagen
  • Dr. Ulrich Kuch, University of Frankfurt, Germany

Image Sources

All images in this challenge were collected from Twitter, in accordance with their terms of service. Links to the original context may be found in the top left corner of each image. The photographers retain the copyright to their images. If you recognize an image that you don’t think should be available for use, please flag it for our review.

Project Partners

This project supports Goal 3 of the UN SDGs: Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages, and in particular Target 3.3 on ending neglected tropical disease. The Sustainable Development Goals

Sign up for our Newsletter

We use cookies to improve your experience on our sites.

Snake ID
Challenge

Worum geht es in der Challenge?

Schlangenbisse kosten weltweit jedes Jahr über 100’000 Menschenleben und verursachen ungefähr drei Mal so viele Fälle von permanenter Behinderung; oft trifft es gerade Menschen in den armen, ländlichen Gegenden der Welt mit einer grossen Artenvielfalt an Schlangen. Einer der Gründe für die Krise ist, dass Gesundheitsversorger in diesen Gegenden oft wenig herpetologisches Artenwissen und einen begrenzten Zugang zu Ressourcen haben. Dasselbe gilt für die lokale Bevölkerung und Gemeinden.

Unser Ziel ist es, die betroffenen Menschen dabei zu unterstützen, diese Herausforderung zu meistern. Wir arbeiten an der Entwicklung eines Tools, mit dem man Schlangen durch eine Kombination aus menschlicher und künstlicher Intelligenz einfach identifizieren kann. Dies hilft klinischem Personal, Fälle von Schlangenbissen besser zu behandeln. Es kann auch in der Bildung zur Aufklärung und zum Schutz von Schlangen genutzt werden und hilft Forschenden, neue Arten zu entdecken.

Die Zahl der bekannten Schlangenarten wächst rapide und wird bis 2030 voraussichtlich um die 4000 betragen. Durch vermehrte Feldforschung in abgelegenen Gebieten der Welt, besser organisierte Datenportale für die Sammlungen naturkundlicher Museen und neue Techniken in der molekularen Systematik haben WissenschaftlerInnen fast täglich Zugang zu neuen Daten über die Artenvielfalt von Schlangen. Die meisten Laien können jedoch nur eine Handvoll von Arten identifizieren und selbst professionelle Herpetologen und Herpetologinnen verfügen meist nur über Kenntnisse auf einem bestimmten geografischen Gebiet oder über eine taxonomische Gruppe.

Aber du bist Experte oder Expertin aus Leidenschaft!

Für unser geplantes Tool ist dein Wissen unersetzbar, denn deine schnelle Bestimmung einer Schlange auf einem Foto könnte eines Tages dazu beitragen, das Leben einer Person zu retten. Dies geschieht derzeit schon über E-Mails und Plattformen wie WhatsApp und Facebook-Gruppen, mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten, um deren Geschwindigkeit und Genauigkeit zu messen. Am Ende werden wir die Ergebnisse der Crowd (du!) mit denen von Künstlicher Intelligenz vergleichen und schauen, wer die Kraftprobe „Mensch-gegen-Maschine“ gewinnt, ähnlich wie bereits im Schach, Go und Jeopardy geschehen.

Wir zählen auf dich und deine Teilnahme an der Challenge! Stell dir einfach vor, die Schlange auf dem Foto hätte gerade jemanden gebissen und du wirst gefragt, welche Spezies es ist.

  • Du musst nicht Schlangenexperte oder -expertin sein, um teilzunehmen.
  • Die Identifikations-Challenge enthält mehr als 2000 Bilder aus aller Welt.
  • Wir messen, wie lange es dauert, bis Du deine Antwort einreichst, aber es gibt keine Zeitbeschränkung pro Antwort.
  • Es ist erlaubt, bei der Identifikation Print & Digital-Ressourcen zur Hilfe zu nehmen.
  • Es ist erlaubt, fundierte Vermutungen zu machen, auch auf Gattungs- oder Familienebene.
  • Es ist in Ordnung, den Kontext des ursprünglichen Tweets zu verwenden, um die ID einzugrenzen.
  • Möglicherweise siehst Du dieselben Bilder mehrmals, obwohl wir versucht haben, diese herauszufiltern. Es kann auch vorkommen, dass auf manchen Bildern keine Schlangen zu sehen sind. Diese kannst Du als „Keine Schlange“ kennzeichnen.
  • Im Gegensatz zum letzten Mal seht Ihr möglicherweise auch Bilder von toten Schlangen.
  • Du kannst sowohl allgemeine als auch wissenschaftliche Namen in englischer Sprache eingeben. Wir verwenden hauptsächlich die Taxonomie von HerpMapper mit Unterstützung der Reptile Database. Wenn Du den gewünschten Namen nicht finden kannst, send uns bitte ein Feedback über das Formular. Die meisten Namen sollten mindestens als Synonyme verfügbar sein. Wir beabsichtigen nicht, zu Taxonomie oder Nomenklatur Haltung einzunehmen.

Projektteam

Dies ist ein höchst interdisziplinäres Projekt, das Herpetolog*innen und wichtige Akteurinnen und Akteure der globalen Gesundheit zusammenbringt.

  • Dr. Rafael Ruiz de Castañeda, Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Dr. Isabelle Bolon, Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Dr. Andrew Durso, Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Prof. François Chappuis, Division of humanitarian and tropical medicine, HUG/UNIGE
  • Dr. Gabriel Alcoba, MSF and Division of humanitarian and tropical medicine, HUG/UNIGE
  • Dr. Nicolas Ray, Institute of environmental sciences & Institute of Global Health, UNIGE
  • Prof. Marcel Salathe, Digital Epidemiology Lab, EPFL
  • Sharada Prasanna Mohanty, Digital Epidemiology Lab, EPFL
  • Prof. François Grey, Citizen Cyberlab, UNIGE
  • Dr. Jose Luis Fernandez, Citizen Cyberlab, UNIGE
  • Rosy Mondardini, Citizen Science Center Zurich, ETH / UNIZH
  • Prof. David Williams, Global Snakebite Initiative, University of Melbourne
  • Dr. Abiy Tamrat, Médecins Sans Frontières, Geneva
  • Hanne Epstein, Médecins Sans Frontières, Copenhagen
  • Donald Becker, Christopher Smith, Michael Pingleton, HerpMapper
  • M. Jose Louies, IUCN Viper Specialist Group, indiansnakes.org & snakebiteinitiative.in
  • Dr. Brian Lohse, AntiVenom Venture & University of Copenhagen
  • Dr. Ulrich Kuch, University of Frankfurt, Germany

Bildquellen

Alle Bilder dieser Challenge wurden gemäss den Nutzungsbedingungen von Twitter gesammelt. Links zum ursprünglichen Kontext findet Ihr in der oberen linken Ecke jedes Bildes. Die Fotografinnen und Fotografen behalten sich das Urheberrecht an ihren Bildern vor. Wenn Du ein Bild erkennst, von dem Du glaubst, dass es nicht zur freien Nutzung zur Verfügung steht, markiere es bitte für uns zur Überprüfung.

Projektpartner

This project supports Goal 3 of the UN SDGs: Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages, and in particular Target 3.3 on ending neglected tropical disease. The Sustainable Development Goals

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Wir verwenden Cookies zur Verbesserung unserer Websites.